Skip to content

Becoming a Registered Hypnotist in Connecticut

Download your info kit

Train to Become a Certified Hypnotist in Connecticut.

Request your free info kit about our training program.

While most states have no specific regulations for practicing as a hypnotist, Connecticut is an exception. 

Continue reading to learn which regulations you need to follow to become a hypnotist in CT.

What Regulations are in Place for Practicing Hypnosis in CT? 

In Connecticut, hypnotists must register with the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). This provision was enacted on October 1, 2006 (see CT Gen Stat § 20-660).

People who are already licensed in CT to perform medical, dental, nursing, counseling, healthcare, substance abuse, or mental health services are exempt from the registration requirement. 

The DCP agency investigates complaints against hypnotists and has the right to conduct prosecutions. The most common complaints leading to investigations are the following:

  • Physical or sexual abuse
  • Misappropriation of property
  • Fraud or deceit in registering or attempting to register as a hypnotist

Moreover, the Commissioner has the right to deny registration for any person who is convicted of such acts.

There is also a civil penalty of up to $100 for practicing without registering first. 

How Does Connecticut Define Hypnosis? 

Connecticut uses the following definitions for hypnosis and hypnotist:

"'Hypnotist' means any person who performs hypnosis, but does not include those individuals licensed by this State to perform medical, dental, nursing, counseling or other health care, substance abuse or mental health services. 'Hypnosis' means an artificially induced altered state of consciousness, characterized by heightened suggestibility and receptivity to direction."

Steps to Becoming a Hypnotist in Connecticut

Below are the recommended steps to becoming a hypnotist in the state of Connecticut: 

Complete a Professional Training Program

Connecticut does not have specific training requirements for becoming a hypnotist; That said, we highly recommend completing a quality training and certification program

The program you choose can be taken online or in person; it just needs to have a solid reputation and a comprehensive curriculum. 


Take Your Hypnosis Certification Test

Once you've completed your training program, you're ready to earn your certification through a professional hypnotherapy organization. Our graduates are certified through the  National Guild of Hypnotists. 

Register With the Department of Consumer Protection

To become a registered hypnotist in Connecticut, you'll need to follow these steps:

  • Pay an application fee of $100

  • Complete a simple application form. 

  • Submit the Application.

Hypnotist registrations expire annually on October 31 and must be renewed. The renewal fee is $100. 

Take Additional Steps to Start Your Practice 

After becoming certified and obtaining your registration, you may wish to consider further professional steps to start and boost your practice:

    • Organization: The National Guild of Hypnotists is an excellent resource for hypnosis-related research and connections.
    • Insurance and licensing: Purchase general and professional liability insurance and applicable business licenses.
    • Disclosure: For every client, provide an informed statement that explains your methods and the nature of hypnosis.

Becoming a registered hypnotist in Connecticut is a straightforward process if you follow these guidelines. Although the state does not specify the number of hours of hypnosis training that you need to have completed, we recommend a well-rounded hypnotherapy education from an accredited Master Certified Professional Hypnotherapist Instructor.